KEYBOARDING INFORMATION: Nothing fancy, just simple information for my friends

Monday: April 20, 2009

I thought you all would like to know how to type symbols using the Mac’s keyboard. I hope this helps, when I was working on the Mac for the first time, I was stumped. I hope this is of help to you.

Copyright symbol ©: option + g

Trademark symbol ™: option + 2

Registration symbol ® : option + r


APPLE iPhone/iPod TOUCH: What was Apple’s true vision in 1987

Monday: April 20, 2009

There is no doubt that Apple’s iPhone & iPod touch have captured peoples imaginations. If you had looked into your crystal ball less than five years ago & predicted the iPhone/iPod touch, your friends would have thought that you were crazy. There is no way that they would have believed that one day you would have an information appliance that does what an iPhone/iPod touch does. Your friends would have laughed out of the coffee cafe when you told them that this information appliance would be able to watch videos, play games, surf the internet, find your way via GPS, call your friends, check your stocks, take & manage pictures.

In 1996, I was one of the people who purchased an Apple Newton Pad 120.

The Newton was the forerunner to the Apple iPhone/iPod touch. Unfortunately, the Newton was a device that was way before its time. When I used my Newton in corporate meetings, people were just amazed at its capabilities.

Steven Seagal was so impressed with the Apple Newton Pad 120, that he used it as his “Bat Belt” in the 1995 movie release of “Under Siege 2: Dark Territory”. If it was not for the Apple Newton contacting the Pentagon, the crazy technology terrorist would have blown up the world [isn’t that the theme of all his movies].

I remember back in 1987, Apple’s CEO John Scully developed a new computing paradigm. He envision a product he called the “Knowledge Navigator”. If people would have paid attention to what Apple saw in its technology crystal ball, they would have seen the genesis of idea for the iPhone/iPod touch. I wish it would not have taken close to 20 to productize the Knowledge Navigator a.k.a. the iPhone/iPod touch.

I hope you enjoyed the videos I shared with you on this posting of my blog.