EDM613 WK02 – BLOG COMENT: deborah nagler

world map radar or sonar

• Image purchased from iStockphoto •

Debra Wrote:
I finally understood why the Matrix series lost my attention. I don’t know that I would or will ever invest that kind of time in the Matrix. On the other hand, this chapter offered an important insight into the generation of learners for whom Transmedia Storytelling will become de rigueur. As Jenkins comments: “Younger viewers have become informational hunters and gatherers, taking pleasure in tracking down character background and plot points…”  (p. 133).  If our students are accustomed to this level of complexity and challenge in their entertainment, we certainly need to raise the bar in educational settings if we are to engage their interest.

Could a Transmedia Storytelling approach be applied in teaching history or science? I wonder what that classroom would look like?

Graham’s Response:
To me the concept of informational hunters and gatherers is not new. When I was in Industrial Design School, I hunted & gathered for those classes outside of my major that required me to write lots of papers. I rather enjoyed the writing based courses. When I learned how to use a word processor, I found that my grades improved.

If kids are will to be informational hunters and gatherers for movies & other media, will they do the same for school?

One Response to EDM613 WK02 – BLOG COMENT: deborah nagler

  1. excellent way to express this process: information hunters and gatherers. I wonder if one of the problems in the school system is that students are told what to look for and given no incentive for their efforts. Hmmm…

Leave a comment